Slow-Cooked Fresh Black Beans & Rice

I’ll admit it. While tomatoes, corn and mushrooms can all be purchased at the Farmer’s Market mine came from Meijer. I was in Pennsylvania last week and had to pick up groceries mid-week because my fridge was fairly barren, so I cheated. However, had I not been prowling Meijer’s produce I never would have stumbled upon the package of fresh black beans and felt compelled to try and do something with it eventually leading to the existence of this recipe.

Slow-Cooked Black Beans & Rice

6 oz fresh black beans
1.5 cups rice
1 cup halved cherry tomatoes (green tomatoes would work great as well)
1 cup diced portabella mushrooms
1 cup corn niblets
20 oz water
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp fresh cracked pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp tsp cayenne pepper

Note: I used fresh black beans, so I didn’t need to soak them. I got them from the produce section of my local Meijer by the sprouts & tofu. Feel free to substitute canned or dried beans, just pre-soak the dried ones.

Toss all ingredients into your crock-pot. Cook at medium heat for 3-3.5 hours.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.