A Song of Ascents

Psalm 121

A song of ascents

If I raise my eyes to the hills,
from where does my help come?
My help comes from ADONAI,
the maker of heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot slip –
your guardian is not asleep.
No, the guardian of Isra’el
never slumbers or sleeps.

ADONAI is your guardian; at your right hand
ADONAI provides you with shade –
the sun can’t strike you during the day
or even the moon at night.

ADONAI will guard you against all harm;
he will guard your life.
ADONAI will guard your coming and going
from now on and forever.

from The Complete Jewish Bible

I was going to write in a story first; before the typing in the Psalm. A little bit about my day that would put it into context, but it didn’t feel right when I read it. It’s not that today was a bad day. In fact, in many respects it was a good one, but life and finances have a way of being depressing some days. Today was one of them.

Then I read this Psalm and it reminded me that life is a journey that I haven’t reached the destination of yet. God will be there with me just as He has many times in the past. It’s easier to remember that when circumstances are crazy or a big decision is looming, but oftentimes the knowledge gets lost in the mundanities of day to day life.

Bright, shiny objects have a way of distracting me from my faith just as they do other things in my life, only they aren’t always bright and shiny. Sometimes they’re dark, depressing and draining. That’s when I have to listen and remember that, just as He reminded Elijah, God is not always in those things which grab our attention. Instead, He is often found in the quiet voice waiting for us to listen and recognize that we are not alone. He has not left us, but is there to guide us as He has been since the beginning.

Leave a Reply

