5 Things I Love – Oct 4

image for weekly list of five things I'm currently loving in life, music, art, etc.

I’ve been contemplating some sort of recurring post for awhile now, but most felt too confining to my ADD topic tendencies. Then yesterday this hit me, so welcome to the first ‘5 Things I Love’ post of what will hopefully be many to come :)

1. Apple Cider

Fall is upon us, which means that it’s apple cider season! Just thinking of fresh apple cider brings back many a memory of fresh cider and cinnamon donuts at the mill growing up.

2. My Non-Paper Cup

I picked up this ‘cup’ at World Market a couple of months back (mine is orange with white flowers) and am a total convert ready to switch over all of my travel mug needs to these Non-Paper Cups. They’re an eco-friendly, bright, fun and easy to care for alternatives to the handwash only/throw away world of travel beverages and at $7.99 a pop they’re not overly expensive either.

3. The Susanne necklace

If someone had described this necklace to me before I saw it in person I never would have put it on my must-have list, but it’s so simple and well done that it’s not the cutesy charm you expect when someone mentions a cut-crystal heart necklace.

It doesn’t hurt that at the lia sophia conference I heard the story behind it. Susanne, who it is named after, was on the Advisory Board for this catalog and chose this piece as her namesake because their family had just lost its smallest member so she wanted something that was small, simple, affordable and ageless that anyone could wear and be reminded of those they love.

4. Jars of Clay’s new album – Shelter

Hitting shelves tomorrow, this album was inspired by the Irish proverb “It is in the shelter of each other that people live”. I’ve taken the opportunity to catch some promotional online streaming that’s happened over the last month and it’s awesome. In fact, there are already two quotations of song lyrics in this blog.

5. LOVELAND micro real estate

While I did not physically attend TEDxDetroit this past week, I did catch as much as I was able to over the live webcast and one of the presentations I saw was done by the duo behind LOVELAND. It sounded so cool I had to go check it out and it fulfilled my expectations of funness. I will admit I have not yet made the leap to inchvestor, but it is coming very, very soon.

There you have it. The first edition of ‘5 Things I Love’. Tune back in next week to see what new bright & shiny things have caught my attention ;)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 09:17:49

    I love the The Susanne necklace. Thanks,
    Sharon
    http://www.yourpregnancyplanner.com/articles/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

