NaNoWriMo: 5 Reasons Why I Choose to NaNo

NaNoWriMo participant badge

1. The NaNo Community

My first year of NaNo was pretty much a fail with, well, life happened. My second year I had just moved to a new community about six months previously and really only knew a handful of people outside of those I met through work. When I joined and shortly thereafter became a Municipal Liaison (ML) for the Lansing region, I met a great group of people. Our write-ins are always filled with interjections of laughter between word sprints. We encourage each both online and off throughout the month.

Then there’s the online community. Every fall I connect with MLs from around the world, including one lovely lady over in Scotland who has issued a standing invite for tea the next time I make it there. Most of these people I will never meet face to face in in real life, but they’ve enriched my life none the less.

The same is true of my region. Some of my Nanites will never make it to an event, but one of the most popular threads in our forum (besides our introduction thread) is the one where everyone is sharing the things that inspire them in their writing which is inspiring in and of itself.

2. The Excuse to Write

One of the most common things that I hear from people who are actually considering NaNoWriMo for the first time is that they’ve had this story percolating in the back of their minds, some of them for years, and for one reason or another they’ve never written it down. NaNo is a great excuse to start writing that story down. It won’t be completely done in that month, but every word that’s written is one word closer.

3. Death to the Inner Editor

Okay, so maybe it’s more like freezing in carbonite for a month, but one of the rules of NaNoWriMo is that you don’t edit until December. I’ll admit that I occasionally backtrack to fix something but usually because I can get more words out of it then. NaNo isn’t about writing perfectly, it’s about getting the words out. After the month is done and you’ve got that first draft together, then you start the editing part of the process.

4. The Satisfaction of Winning

I freely admit that I have a competitive streak. I love winning and entering that final word count, getting the purple status bar and certificate – it’s a great feeling.

5. Fun

That community I mentioned? We do more than just write together. We start and end the month with a party, and that’s not even counting the write-ins and forum talking in between. On the story level there’s also the craziness of seeing what your characters will do next (it’s not always what you were initially thinking). It’s just fun overall – if you’re willing to let it be.

The fun starts even before the month does. Don’t believe me? Read this forum entry from Hero:

Hello Wrimos.

Look at your novel, now back to mine, now back at your novel, now back to MINE.
Sadly, it isn’t mine, but if you started writing 1667 words a day it could be as long as mine.
Look down, back up, where are you? You’re at your computer WITH THE NOVEL YOUR NOVEL COULD LOOK LIKE.
What’s in your hand? Back at me. It’s the remains of your silenced inner editor.
Look again.
THE EDITOR IS NOW DIAMONDS!
Anything is possible with NaNoWriMo.
I’m on a forum.

And he’s right. Anything is possible with NaNoWriMo.

To all of you out there who take part in the annual insanity – why do you you NaNo?

Miss the first post about NaNoWriMo? Check it out here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: NaNoWriMo: Filling in the Gaps « Something Magic

Leave a Reply

