losing life

I came across this poem while looking for a file on my computer tonight. It’s a few years old, but I thought it would share it with you all.

losing life
it drains from me in drops of time, passed on with spoken words
breaking bonds, letting go of what could have been forever
I am freewheeling in a world of over-analyzation, second guessing
Lord, show me the way
speaking in circles and becoming frustrated to find myself back where I began
the conversations repeated with déjà vu in rooms where I find my life
when did it all become so complicated?
on my knees is the only peace to be found
watching a scary movie in living room darkness as candles gutter and die
but the reality waiting just beyond the television is more frightening by far
I am unsure of which is worst, the unknown or the known
Lord, shine your light into my life
wishing I could return to the days of my childhood
safe in the arms of one who has always been there for me
without the distractions of all that has changed
home hits a longing buried deep
how did I loose track of the path You were lighting for me?
or is standing at the crossroads always this hard?
we speak in songs in the still of Sunday morning
if only our eyes were not blinded by mtv
our ears deafened with the sounds of busyness
our tongues dumbed with fear of rejection
Lord, be all that I need, now and forever
my purpose is yours, cleanse my heart and make me true

“Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” Matthew 10:39

Leave a Reply

