5 Things I Love – Feb 7

image for weekly list of five things I'm currently loving in life, music, art, etc.

In honor of the nasty cold I spent the weekend fighting, here are my 5 favorite home treatments (largely impacted by my herb class in high school).

1. Peppermint

Not only do I love the scent of peppermint, but it has natural antiseptic and anti-inflammatory properties, which is why its great for calming a cough or an upset stomach. The menthol in peppermint is also one of the key ingredients in Vick’s Vapo Rub (which is another fave of my for treating colds). I’ve also got peppermint oil mixed with some basic canola oil in a jar by my bed to keep dry, cracked skin at bay in the winter months.

2. Honey

This sweet sensation is also a triple-player on the health front working as a throat soother, natural antibiotic, and a source of natural energy.

3. Vitamin C

It won’t kill your cold, but it will strengthen your immune system and while I am generally not in support of doing several thousand times the daily recommended dosage of something I will do it in situations like fighting colds. Yes, I realize it’s best to use preventatively and did start taking it before the cold became full-blown.

4. Green Tea

It’s all over the news and health blogs and has been for years – green tea is strong in antioxidants and so will help you fight off those attacking bugs. Personally, I’ve been a fan ever since I went to Japan even if the American version is much, much weaker.

5. Gypsy Cold Care Tea

Yes, this is the third mention of tea so far in this post. Have I mentioned I like tea before? While there was close running between this and orange juice and this won out. I came across it a few years ago and while I don’t have any sort of research to back it up, I love it anyway.

Runner-Ups:

Garlic

Another natural antibiotic, fresh garlic can be added to any variety of meals for an extra dose of protection(though your hands may retain that scent for several days…).

Please note that while these are all commonly available items, use your head when it comes to your health and if you have any questions talk to a healthcare professional before use. For instance, if you, like my mother, have a sensitivity to antibiotics beware the honey and garlic. They probably won’t make you feel better.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Penny
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 16:12:27

    Enjoyed reading your blog postings.

    The 5 Things you used for mending that cold are very good medicines. Hope you are feeling better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

