5 Things I Love – May 23

image for weekly list of five things I'm currently loving in life, music, art, etc.

1. Detroit Symphony Orchestra’s ‘Ignite the Soul’

I actually saw this video a week or so ago and don’t know why it didn’t occur to me to post it until today. Not only does it appeal to me in the sense that it’s the symphony orchestra and, well, I was a music major at one point in my life; but it also does a great job of bringing context to the video with the various locations that can be seen. It’s not your classic image of a symphony playing in a massive orchestral hall. If it were I would support it out of love for the arts, but it’s highly doubtful I would love it. Also, great tag line.

P.S. They can’t afford to air the video so please share it with your friends if you haven’t already.

2. Spinach Quesadillas at Nuevo Vallerta in Grand Blanc

I had actually been to Nuevo Vallerta on a number of occasions before discovering these. Actually, it was my mom who discovered them an after hearing her rave over them I decided that when we went there this past week I really needed to give them a try. Totally worth it. The steamed spinach meshes wonderfully with white cheese and just a bit of spices folded into a flour tortilla. If you’re a spinach and Mexican fan I’d recommend giving it a try.

3. Angry Nerds

An entertaining spoof on the oh so popular angry birds game with birds from ‘the Hacker’ to ‘the Agilista’. Should they ever decide to move beyond spoofing I think there could be a definite market for their deck chair propelled fowl.

4. Stella McCartney’s Fall 2011 Mosaic Clutch

I spotted this in my June 2011 issue of Marie Claire and love the almost tribal look that the mosaic gives as well as the interest of being a square clutch. There’s a second clutch of a similar nature that looks like it features inlaid abalone and is gorgeous as well. I’m sure they’re beyond my price range, but it doesn’t stop me from drooling over them ;)

5. Fat Belly Handymen

So, I haven’t actually had any handyman work done by these gents, but they were my vendor neighbors at the 2nd Annual Baker Auto Show yesterday and proved to be the type of neighbors who are both entertaining and helpful. Of course, the sense of humor should be obvious considering their name, but they also helped me attempt to wrangle an octopus-like canopy (even if we did eventually give up in defeat) and chase items that the wind decided didn’t belong on my table anymore. Being a renter, it’s unlikely that I’ll need handyman help anytime soon, but if I did they’d definitely be on my to call list.

Leave a Reply

