Fashion Soiree: The Groundwork of a Dress

Every year on the last night of conference lia sophia throws a huge party for all of the attendees. Two years ago we took over the Harley Davidson complex. Last year, they closed down the pier for a massive white party. This year the Fashion Soiree is being held at the Milwaukee Art Museum.

Knowing that we would ask, they’ve given us these guidelines for dressing for the evening:

Think New York Fashion Week, a Hollywood movie premiere, or even a summer wedding where stylish, understated elegance makes an impact. This is the time to break out your favorite summery cocktail dress, and don’t forget your dancing shoes!

The moment I saw the announcement I knew exactly which piece of jewelry I wanted to wear:

Having no luck in finding the right combo of color, cut and fit (that still fit my budget), I have decided to make my dress instead which means the possibilities are endless. That is not to say I didn’t have a basic style in mind when I made that decision. I’ve already got a deep sea green material, a midnight blue as well. Now tis the time for figuring out the details.

Here are some of my inspiration styles:

Black Halo - Red Carpet Dress

Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent - Perfect Picturesque Dress

Moschino Cheap and Chic - Perfect Bow Dress

Alice by Temperly - Cobalt Cyclone Dress

Yigal Azrouël - Black Jupiter Dress

I’m sure the final dress will end up pulling inspiration from several of these, but feel free to share your thoughts below :)

Leave a Reply

