Blueberry Rice Pudding

This isn’t an overly sweet recipe. I usually serve it with ice cream or whipped cream which balances that out, but for a sweeter pudding increase the agave (or sugar if that is used instead).

Blueberry Rice Pudding

2 cups cooked rice
1 cup milk
2 tbsp agave syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup fresh blueberries
2 1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp cloves
Dash each of ginger

Mix together ingredients in a saucepan, cover and simmer over low heat for 30 minutes.

Remove from heat and allow to cool for 10 minutes before serving.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 17:42:28

    The “Dash each of ginger” line in the ingredient list makes me think that something was left off–ginger and what? Allspice, maybe?

    Thanks! Sounds like a good recipe, and I’m headed to the kitchen to try it out.

    Reply

    • alainarkraus
      Sep 19, 2012 @ 10:54:26

      Blast. You’re right. I’ll take a look at it and see if I can figure out what else was supposed to be there ;)

      Reply

      • Anne
        Sep 19, 2012 @ 11:47:28

        When I made the pudding, I used only a small amount of the spices listed. I didn’t note how much, but I doubt I used more than 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and probably less than 1/4 tsp of the cloves and ginger. I also subbed honey for the agave syrup.

        In any case, it was fabulous! The blueberries turned the rice a gorgeous shade of purple, and it tasted great. Although my version was slightly different from the one you posted, I owe you a big Thank You for the recipe. I’ll definitely be making it again.

Leave a Reply

