Stewed Venison & Tomatoes

I really wasn’t sure what to call this recipe. I was thinking gumbo, but then I looked it up and it means ‘thickened with okra’. I don’t have anything against okra, but I haven’t had any in the kitchen of late so obviously that wouldn’t work. Feel free to give suggestions if you have a better idea of a classification.

Stewed Venison & Tomatoes

1 1/2 cups diced venison summer sausage
1 small to medium Viadlia onion chopped large
14 oz stewed tomatoes
1 cup water
3/4 cup roasted corn (or one ear cored)

Rinse and chop as necessary. Empty all ingredients into your crockpot and allow to simmer overnight or about 8 hours. My crockpot only has one setting so it would be at whatever the average setting is.

I chose to serve mine over rice which worked quite well, but I plan to experiment with pasta, gnocchi, etc. Also, feel free to add other vegetables and such the first time I made it on the stovetop with chopped zucchini (from the farmer’s market) and it was good as well.

Leave a Reply

