5 Things I Love – July 4

image for weekly list of five things I'm currently loving in life, music, art, etc.

Soooo, those conference posts? They’ll go live this week. I always forget how mentally exhausting it can be. I thought I’d be able to get one up on Saturday, but a flash storm hit my parents place and knocked out the cable company so it was a no phone, cable or internet kind of thing. Thankfully we were spared from the power outage unlike a few blocks over. Anyway, here’s this week’s five…

1. Fireworks

Yes, they are bright, shiny, sparkly and fun to look at, but what I really love about fireworks is that it’s an excuse to bring together friends and family and have a good time. The first round of fireworks I went to this past weekend was totally messed up by the storm earlier in the day, but we had a great night in spite of it. In fact, it wouldn’t have been so memorable had the day gone off without a hitch.

2. Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon

I may be a bit biased due to my being an extra in it, but I actually really enjoyed the movie. It was funny. There was a plot. Explosions happened. Great editing in of old real life film footage. The topper for me, though, was that Alen Tudyk (aka Wash in Firefly) was in it and he was fabulous. I would see it again just for him.

3. Cracker Barrel

We have literally planned road trips by Cracker Barrel locations. I kid you not. My family may not be Southern, but we appreciate that down home cooking anyway. It’s definitely a top restaurant choice for our whole family and it’s not expensive to boot.

4. Modjeskas

Of course, when I think of Cracker Barrel I can’t help but think of modjeskas. Never heard of them? Next time you’re there check out the glass candy containers behind the counter and give one of these wax paper wrapped babies a try. Creamy caramel wrapped around a marshmallow center. Mmmmm.

5. Horseshoes

This kind of goes back to the 4th of July & fireworks, but I played horseshoes for the first time in years today. My form could use some work and my arm may hate me tomorrow, but I got a ringer and had fun doing it.

Leave a Reply

