5 Things I Love – July 18

image for weekly list of five things I'm currently loving in life, music, art, etc.

1. ‘Believe’ by Transiberian Orchestra

One of my favorite songs from their Night Castle album, I was geeked to hear it live at one of their concerts last year and it comes up pretty regularly in my iPod playlists. It’s not just the song I love, though. It’s Tim Hockenberry’s singing it. He’s got a fabulously raspy voice that makes me think of late nights at smoky piano bars. Not that I’ve really done that myself, but that’s what it puts me in mind of none the less.

2. Clinton Kelly

Host of TLC’s What Not to Wear, fashion guru and funny guy. I’ve now had the opportunity to hear him speak twice and he was fabulous both times. Now I just need to get his books, which I’m sure are great, funny reads. After all, the most recent one is Oh No She Didn’t. Unfortunately, I’m sure she did or she wouldn’t have ended up in the book ;)
Also, the post about his talk at this year’s lia sophia conference will go live tomorrow. is up now!

3. Trader Joe’s Mango Butter

Mangos are my friend. I love them. The problem is getting mangoes that are in decent shape up here in the Midwest. Enter mango butter. The wonderful taste of mango in a tasty spread for those mango-less times in life. It’s also great for cooking to give a bit of that creamy fruit flavor to a dish.

4.Retro Bikes

I’m currently bike shopping and I must say I love the retro inspired bikes that have hit the market. It started when I took note some of the Cruiser styles from Schwinn which are at Walmart. Then there’s the lovely offerings from Velobis and a multitude of other places. Thankfully I’ve got a price cap or this search would be far harder than it already is.

5. Vanessa Mae

In a recent scroll through my iTunes artist I stumbled upon Vanessa Mae once more and realized I still love her music as much as I did when I first was introduced back in high school. A classically trained violinist, she brings a modern techno feel to her music that I quite enjoy. It doesn’t hurt that I love violin. If I ever decided to pick up a new instrument most likely that would be it (though percussion has a certain appeal as well).

Leave a Reply

