lia sophia NEXT: Clinton Kelly’s Top 10

Since Clinton introduced us to his closet last year and it’s a bit hard to do live questions with 4,000 women; this year he did the next best thing by addressing the top ten questions that he gets asked. Of course, in the midst of this discussion he admitted to being caught in flip flops on the street after expressedly stating they are the bottom of the shoe ladder. This admission led to the removal of one show – to validate his claim of having attractive feet – and then a totally barefoot state.

I’m really rather amazed there weren’t more catcalls in the midst of all the cheering going on at that time. Anyway, on to the tips…

10. Most people I know are hot messes. I don’t want to look overdressed in my own neighborhood. What’s a girl to do?

Really, most of America is a hot mess. We all know it and Clinton’s not afraid to say it, but he’s also quick to say not to worry about what people think about you. Everything you put on your body should be a personal expression of you aka You Be You!

9. Can you help my husband? He’s gross!

I loved that Clinton showed a picture of himself with the admonition not to get your hopes too high. His advice – reward him your hubby/boyfriend/etc for dressing well with treats. What those treats are I’ll leave up to you to determine ;)

8. These boobs of mine! I just can’t figure out what to do with them. Any ideas?

I feel this one ladies. The girls are pretty fond of getting in the way. Last year, Clinton told us that getting a bra fitting was one of the best things to do to up your style ante. This year, he shared it a bit differently by telling us to get the girls in a bra halfway between the shoulder & elbow. That’s where designers design them to be.
For the smaller ladies, create a volume with ruffles, folding etc. whereas those more amply endowed should get to know v-necks. They’re our friends. He also encouraged smaller shouldered individuals to add some volume at the shoulder to balance things out.

7. How do I make it look like I have less junk in my trunk?

This problem I do not have (as my mother will attest) but Clinton has a phrase to help remember what to do if this is a problem area for you – divide & conquer. Dividing breaks up the attention and therefore helps minimize.

6. Shopping for jeans is about as much fun as playtime at Guantanamo Bay. Please… help… me.

My favorite part of this answer was when Clinton told us that the best way to prevent muffin top is to keep the muffin in the pan aka 2 finger widths under the belly button is an ideal location for the top of the jeans to hit. In case you’ve ever wondered, the trouser is apparently the most flattering style of jean available.
He also reminded us that the average woman on what Not to Wear has to try on 20 pairs of jeans to find that pair that fits, so don’t give up after one or two.

5. You’re always recommending heels. Well, my feet hurt Mister Smartypants. Now what?

“Why would I see a podiatrist? Because they’re a foot doctor!”

While taller makes you look thinner by elongating your body, if your doctor tells you not to wear heels – don’t do it! If you’re a heel avoider you can still be stylish sporting a cute non-athletic sneaker; light, airy wedge; ballet or other style of flat; boot or a sandal. Just avoid those flip flops. Oh, and with flats raise your natural waist to make your legs look longer and you, therefore, taller.

4. Is there such a thing as too much jewelry for daytime?

Jewelry is all about drawing attention to where you want, so use statement jewelry to draw the eye where you’d like it to go and complement it with simpler pieces for the daytime then trade out for a bolder evening look.

3. Momma ain’t got no money for Gucci. How do I still look fabulous?

“Style is not about clothes – it’s a state of mind that you believe & look good every day.”

Being a bargain shopper I love this – style is not about price tag. More important is the fit. Without fit, there’s no style involved no matter what the price tag says. According to Clinton a tailor & a bra fitting will change your life, so buy the less expensive piece and get it tailored to get that million dollar look.

2. My kids left me with a pooch as a reminder that I carried them for 9 months. Whaaaaa!

There are several options to get the attention where you want it like a great structured jacket, a blouse with shape (dart, etc.), avoiding tubes or an a-line dress that’s fitted at the waist. Don’t be afraid of shapewear either. It’s a girl’s best friend ;)

1. How do I dress so that I don’t look like my teenage daughter… or my mother? Yikes!

According to Clinton if you’re asking if your too old to be wearing something you probably need to seriously consider the likelihood that you are. Here are his 4 questions to ask:
– Does it show too much cleavage?
– Does it show too much leg?
– Does this trend involve the belly button at all?
– Is this a trend that a hooker would look at and say that’s a trend for me?

That’s it for Clinton’s Top Ten, but I’ll leave you with a few more quotes of his to brighten you day.

“You have a choice to be blah, boring or fabulous – like me.”
“Stop comparing yourself to anyone else on this planet. You are you & you are perfect.”
“You can be perfect & imperfect. Embrace your perfections.”
“You be you. You be the best version of you possible and everything else will fall into place.”

P.S. Don’t forget to check out the lia sophia giveaway going on right now. Less than a week left now to enter…

Leave a Reply

