Summer Veggie Empanadas

Empanadas (at least from my American experiences with them) are like baby versions of what I refer to as pasties. In fact, now that I think on it, this recipe is really like a variation on the pasties that I shared several months back. Anyway, I wanted to do something with kohlrabi and saw some reference to it being in an empanada which reminded me of making Panamanean Empanadas in college and led to this recipe. I meant to post it earlier this week, but the record highs kept me from being very kitchen motivated.

Summer Veggie Empanadas

1 1/2 cups diced kohlrabi
1 cup diced zucchini
1 cup diced summer squash
1 cup diced onion
1 cup diced radishes
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp ginger
2 tbsp butter
3 cups flour
2 tbsp water
3/4 cup margarine

Mix together flour, water and margarine for pocket dough. You can also buy pie crust to use if you don’t wish to make your own. Set aside in the refrigerator (esp if it’s warm in the kitchen). Now clean and dice your veggies.

Mix together died veggies with salt, pepper and ginger.

Pull out dough and roll into circles of 5-6 inches. Fill with a spoon & a half of veggie mix, add a dab of butter, fold and crease edge.

Bake at 400 for 30 minutes.

Also, this recipe is linked in The Healthy Hop July Edition:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sheelbeel
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 00:47:57

    Mmmm these look delicious! I can’t wait to make them!

    Reply

  2. Family Recipes
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 02:09:19

    I enjoy making my favorite dishes with my family. Thanks for sharing this recipe today! I enjoyed reading your blog post very much thanks again!

    Reply

  3. Matt @ FaveDiets
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 09:44:46

    This recipe looks so good! I love empanadas, and now really want to try my hand at making some. Thanks for linking up to my blog hop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

